“Our Father” Prayer Space

 

DSCF4326

Written on Monday, 17th April

This morning I arrived at the church early to help set up the various prayer stations that Pippa had carefully prepared. I wondered how many people would come to the first of our special times of prayer and reflection, and also how we would all respond. By 9.15am there were 10 of us gathered in the chapel, including a neighbour of one of our number, who is a member of Guildford Baptist Church. It was lovely to welcome her and she was very enthusiastic and pleased to be able to join us.

Pippa opened our time with a meditation on the parable of the Prodigal Son, which really helped me to realise afresh just how much our Father God longs to embrace us all in his love, no matter who we are, no matter what we have or haven’t done, or how far we might have strayed from his will and plans for us.

We then had time to explore the various prayer stations, both those set up in the chapel and also those around the church. What a moving and powerful experience that was! My father died when I was just 14, but shortly after that I became a Christian and started my relationship with my Father God in heaven. I was moved tears as I realised how faithful Father God has been to me over the years as I have journeyed with him. How He has guided me, loved me and provided for me. How He has comforted me, and encouraged me.

As I stood by the prayer station set up by the font, with the sun shining through the window, I felt physically bathed in the warmth and light of God’s love. This led me to ask God to soften my heart to others, particularly to those who I would not naturally gravitate towards, or those who I find difficult. And so I went on to pray that others might also experience a relationship with such a loving God, who longs to be Father to us all.

Jeanette

Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 11.47.16

Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 11.48.31

DSCF4383

DSCF4320

DSCF4319

Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 11.44.12Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 11.52.53DSCF4385Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 11.49.02Screen Shot 2017-04-20 at 11.51.40DSCF4387

Leave a Reply

