Psalm reflections – God’s unfailing love and faithfulness

Screen Shot 2017-04-30 at 12.40.10.png

Last Wednesday, Dave’s fortnightly house group met, as usual at Mary’s house for a delicious home-cooked meal followed by discussion about faith.

The group have recently been reading the Psalms and Dave had set them the task of either writing a psalm or something inspired by a psalm.  A few members of the group have kindly agreed to share their responses with us, which forms the basis of this set of blog posts…

Here is Martyn’s contribution:

God’s unfailing love and faithfulness (inspired by Psalm 18 vvs 43-50)

I settled on Psalm 18 where King David looks back over his life and thanks God for His provision and faithfulness to him.

You have delivered me from the attacks of the people;
you have made me the head of nations.
People I did not know now serve me,
foreigners cower before me;
as soon as they hear of me, they obey me.
They all lose heart;
they come trembling from their strongholds.
The Lord lives! Praise be to my Rock!
Exalted be God my Saviour!
He is the God who avenges me,
who subdues nations under me,
who saves me from my enemies.
You exalted me above my foes;
from a violent man you rescued me.
Therefore I will praise you, Lord, among the nations;
I will sing the praises of your name.
He gives his king great victories;
he shows unfailing love to his anointed,
to David and to his descendants forever.

A poem was a bridge too far from me, and so I wrote a letter to my Father; Jehovah Jireh, my provider:

 

Unknown-4

 

Twenty-odd years ago you challenged me Lord.
You showed me that you had a work for me.
A work that was attainable.
You challenged me by showing me what Paul had written to the church in Ephesus:
“We are God’s workmanship created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.”
You had already prepared those works for me. They were good works and I had to complete them.  As your child, your son, I was accountable to you.

And so, Father, I examined various areas of my life:
my family, my work, my church and work for you, my social life.
In all those areas I wanted to honour you,
I wanted to complete the work, the “good works”, that you had already planned for me.

And as I look back over those years I see some dark periods; times when I thought I might lose my business, our home, my reputation.
But in all those times you were there with me;  you protected me, you protected us, all of us.

And your other Children, those who in your kindness you gave me.
Those brothers and sisters also stood with me, prayed with me, supported, challenged and encouraged me.

I did not always deserve your protection, your love, your provision; but you never failed me. You were always there.

Dear Lord, acknowledging your faithfulness to me and my family over what is now many years, I can boldly say as Paul did to the church in Philippi:
“Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. I press on towards the goal to win the prize.”

So Father, where next?
Am I open to the new plans that you still have for me?
The good plans you have prepared for me yet to realise?

I ask, as you are clearly not done with me yet!

Your dependant son,

Martyn

Leave a Reply

